Nolan Richardson to Naismith HOF Friday

Thursday, August 7, 2014 - 7:10pm

Former Bowie Bear Nolan Richardson will be formally inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame on Friday, August 8, in Springfield, Massachusetts.

The Class of 2014 inductees includes seven-time NBA All-Star Alonzo Mourning, 1994 NCAA National Champion coach Nolan Richardson, six-time NBA All-Star Mitch Richmond, 2002 NCAA National Champion coach Gary Williams, the three-time AIAW National Championship winning Immaculata University team, the winningest coach in ABA history, Bob Leonard, early African American pioneer of the game Nat Clifton, international superstar Sarunas Marciulionis, four-time NBA All-Star Guy Rodgers and former NBA Commissioner of 30 years David Stern.

2014 Inductees and Presenters:

Nolan Richardson, presented by Hall of Fame coach John Thompson (’99) & player Nate Archibald (’91)

Mitch Richmond, presented by Hall of Fame players Chris Mullin (‘11) & Ralph Sampson (’12)

Bob Leonard, presented by Hall of Fame players Mel Daniels (‘12) & Larry Bird (’98)

Immaculata University, presented by Hall of Fame coach Cathy Rush (’08)

Guy Rodgers, presented by Hall of Fame player Earl Monroe (’90)

Nat Clifton, presented by Hall of Fame player Meadowlark Lemon (’03)

Sarunas Marciulionis, presented by Hall of Fame player Chris Mullin (’11)

Alonzo Mourning, presented by Hall of Fame coaches Pat Riley (‘08) & John Thompson (’99)

David Stern, presented by Hall of Fame players Larry Bird (‘98), Earvin “Magic” Johnson (‘02), Bob Lanier (‘92) and NBA contributor Russ Granik (’13)

Gary Williams, presented by Hall of Fame player Billy Cunningham (’86)

Some moments from Richardson's career:
The 1994 Naismith and NABC Coach of the Year, Richardson led the University of Arkansas to the 1994 National Championship and to three Final Four appearances (1990, 1994, 1995). Richardson is an enshrinee in the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame. He was the 1998 SEC Coach of the Year and led Tulsa to an NIT championship in 1981 and Western Texas to a NJCCA national championship in 1980. Richardson compiled a collegiate coaching record of 509-207 (.711).


Reader Comments

Post new Comment