News Alert

Tuesday, September 30, 2014 - 6:17pm

Aggies Picked First and Second in WAC Preseason Polls

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 - 9:31pm

The New Mexico State men's basketball team was voted to win the WAC title in the WAC Coaches' Preseason poll and second in the media poll. Senior forward Tyrone Watson and sophomore guard Daniel Mullings earned Preseason All-WAC honors.

The 10 head coaches selected the Aggies to finish first with five first-place votes and 77 points. Utah State captured second place with five first-place votes and 76 points. Denver took third place with 65 points. With 54 points, Louisiana Tech secured the fourth spot. UT Arlington (48) and Idaho (45) followed closely behind in fifth and sixth place, respectively. UTSA was picked seventh with 31 points, while Seattle was selected eighth with 22 points. San Jose State (18) and Texas State (14) were selected ninth and tenth, respectively.

Utah State junior guard Preston Medlin was tabbed as the league's preseason player of the year. Mullings earned a first-team nod along with Denver junior forward Chris Udofia, Idaho center Kyle Barone and Louisiana Tech sophomore guard Raheem Appleby. Second-team selections include Kevin Butler (UT Arlington), Jeromie Hill (UTSA), James Kinney (San Jose State), Kyisean Reed (Utah State) and Watson.

The conference media poll selected Utah State as this year's favorite. Utah State received 232 points and 15 first-place votes. New Mexico State was picked second with 223 points and eight first-place votes. Denver garnered 181 points and one first-place vote for third place followed by Louisiana Tech with 162 points. Idaho was fifth with 144 points followed by UT Arlington with 137 points and one first-place vote. UTSA was seventh with 104 points, followed by Seattle (77) in eighth, San Jose State (61) in ninth and Texas State (54) in tenth.

Medlin was named the preseason player of the year, and Utah State junior forward/center Jarred Shaw, a transfer from Oklahoma State, was picked as the preseason newcomer of the year. The All-WAC team included Medlin, Appleby, Barone, Mullings and Udofia.

2012-13 Preseason Men's Basketball Coaches Poll
Rank     Teams (1st Place Votes)               Points
1.            New Mexico State (5)                    77
2.            Utah State (5)                                76
3.            Denver                                           65
4.            Louisiana Tech                              54
5.            UT Arlington                                  48
6.            Idaho                                              45
7.            UTSA                                             31
8.            Seattle U                                        22
9.            San Jose State                               18
10.          Texas State                                    14                     

Preseason All-WAC Teams
First Team
Raheem Appleby, So., G, Louisiana Tech
Kyle Barone, Sr., C, Idaho           
Preston Medlin, Jr., G, Utah State
Daniel Mullings, So., G, New Mexico State
Chris Udofia, Jr., F, Denver
Second Team
Kevin Butler, Sr., F, UT Arlington
Jeromie Hill, Jr., F, UTSA
James Kinney, Sr., G, San Jose State
Kyisean Reed, Sr., F, Utah State
Tyrone Watson, Sr., F, New Mexico State

Player of the Year: Preston Medlin, Utah State

2012-13 Preseason Men's Basketball Media Poll
Rank     Teams (1st Place Votes)               Points
1.            Utah State (15)                              232
2.            New Mexico State (8)                    223
3.            Denver (1)                                     181
4.            Louisiana Tech                              162
5.            Idaho                                              144
6.            UT Arlington (1)                             137
7.            UTSA                                             104
8.            Seattle U                                          77
9.            San Jose State                                61
10.          Texas State                                     54

Preseason All-WAC Media Team
Raheem Appleby, So., G, Louisiana Tech
Kyle Barone, Sr., C, Idaho
Preston Medlin, Jr., G, Utah State
Daniel Mullings, So., G, New Mexico State
Chris Udofia, Jr., F, Denver

Preseason Player of the Year: Preston Medlin, Jr., G, Utah State
Newcomer of the Year: Jarred Shaw, Jr., F/C, Utah State



Reader Comments

Post new Comment