Fireworks banned third year in a row for 4th of July holiday

Wednesday, June 5, 2013 - 9:58pm

Fireworks will be banned for the third year in a row for the Fourth of July, after Gov. Rick Perry granted a disaster declaration to El Paso County.

Gov. Rick Perry granted County Judge Veronica Escobar's Disaster Declaration until the morning of July 5th.

El Paso County is considered to be in an extreme drought, and leaders are trying to avoid a preventable fire.

The declaration allows for the county to ban the sale, use and possession of fireworks in the unincorporated areas.

The only city that does allow fireworks is Socorro, but Gov. Perry's office says that newly-elected Mayor Jesus Ruiz will be calling a special council meeting to address sales within the city limits.

According to the City of Socorro's website, no date has yet been set.


Reader Comments

Post new Comment